10 Jun 2018 - Tribute to Harry Sparnaay - BIMHUIS Amsterdam

Tribute to Harry Sparnaay

Homage to one of the world’s most important bass clarinet players, Harry Sparnaay, by well-known composers and musicians, alternating stories, compositions and improvisations.

This concert is an homage to Harry Sparnaay, to his music and his instrument, the bass clarinet. Many musicians will come together to pay tribute to a friend, a colleague, a former teacher who passed away last year. Compositions written for Harry Sparnaay will be performed, there will be improvisations, storytelling and photographs on display.

Among the musicians present at the concert will be Polo de Haas, who formed the log-standing Duo Fusion with Sparnaay, flutist Harrie Starreveld, who toured the world for 20 years together with Harry in Het Trio, composers Theo Loevendie and Guus Janssen, who composed for him, and a large gathering of bass clarinetists including Ainhoa Miranda, Fie Schouten, Frans Moussault, Jacques Dubois, Jan Weyenberg, Jelte Althuis, Lothar Ohlmeier, Maarten Ornstein, Marij van Gorkom, Oguz Büyükberber, Peter Beerkens and Tobias Klein.


Three for One (2013) – Roderik de Man

Petra Stump, Heinz Peter Linshalm, Ainhoa Miranda clarinets, Frans Moussault,  Oguz Büyükberber, Maarten Ornstein bass clarinets, Harrie Starreveld shakuhachi, Polo de Haas, Guus Janssen piano. Theo Loevendie (narator)

Il volto della notte (1987) – Paolo Perezzani

Fie Schouten, Lothar Ohlmeier, Tobias Klein bass clarinets, Nora Mulder piano, Jana Machalett flute, Gonçalo Almeida double bass, Martin van Duynhoven drums

Vortice (1983) – Enric Raxach

Marij van Gorkom, Jan Wijenberg, Peter Beerkens, Frans Moussault, Laura Carmichael, Heinz-Peter Linshalm, Ainhoa Miranda, Jacques Dubois, Jelte Althuis bass clarinet/double bass clarinet. Fie Schouten (conductor)

Ladder of Escape (1984) – Michael Smetanin

Petra Stump-Linshalm, Fie Schouten, Peter Beerkens, Jan Wijenberg, Jacques Dubois, Laura Carmichael, Marij van Gorkom, Ainhoa Miranda, Jelte Althuis bass clarinet/double bass clarinet. Ned McGowan (conductor)

((Double) bass) clarinettists: Fie Schouten, Tobias Klein, Lothar Ohlmeier, Ainhoa Miranda, Oguz Büyükberber, Jelte Althuis, Frans Moussault, Marij van Gorkom, Maarten Ornstein, Jacques Dubois, Petra Stump, Heinz-Peter Linshalm, Peter Beerkens, Laura Carmichael, Jan Wijenberg
Guests: Harrie Starreveld shakuhachi, Polo de Haas, Guus Janssen, Nora Mulder piano, Jana Machalett flute, Gonçalo Almeida bass, Martin van Duynhoven drums, Theo Loevendie narator, Ned McGowan conductor

Facebook event