+31 (0)20 - 788 2150 |

Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2018: Finals

Finals of the international competition for jazz talent from conservatories in Amsterdam, Philadelphia, Helsinki, Paris and New York.

The Keep an Eye Jazz Award is an annual competition for extraordinary vocal talents and jazz bands from Conservatorium van Amsterdam and similar institutions in the United States and Europe. The theme for this special 10th edition is ‘Billy Strayhorn’ — all bands will arrange and perform their own version of one of his compositions. Participants can win beautiful prizes that could boost their careers as professional jazz musicians. The jury includes, among others, Peter Bernstein and Sander Grande and consists of musicians, educators and professionals from the cultural world.

The Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2018 is supported by the Keep an Eye Foundation in collaboration with Conservatorium van Amsterdam.



The two winners of the semifinals on 19 and 20 March. These semifinals take place in Amsterdam Blue Note hall at Conservatorium van Amsterdam on 20:00. For more information please visit

SELMA SAVOLAINEN QUARTET (Sibelius Academy, Helsinki)

Selma Savolainen vocals, Artturi Rönkä piano, Joonas Tuuri double bass, Okko Saastamoinen drums

DAY DREAMERS (Boyer College of Music and Dance – Temple University – Philadelphia)

Andrew Carson trumpet, Michael Hudson-Casanova alto saxophone, Christian Lewis tenor saxophone, Elijah Cole guitar, Nathan Pence double bass, Kyon Williams drums


Giveton Gelin trumpet, Immanuel Wilkins alto saxophone, Gideon Tazelaar tenor saxophone, Juan Vidaurre guitar, Julius Rodriguez piano, Philip Norris double bass, John Steele drums

THIBAULT GOMEZ QUINTET (Conservatoire de Paris, Parijs

Benoit Joblot drums, Etienne Renard double bass, Pierre-Marie Lapprand saxophone, Robinson Khoury trombone, Thibault Gomez piano

Extra information

The Keep An Eye Award is one of the projects of the Keep An Eye Foundation. Click here for their website.


Would you like to have dinner before the concert? Our restaurant is open on concert nights, usually from 6:30 PM onwards. Reservations recommended.

More info
In collaboration with:
Thu 22 March 2018
Keep an Eye International Jazz Award 2018: Finals